We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 30 Zarek [Online Release Archive] releases available on Bandcamp and save 20%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of ILOG3, ILOG3, Hawking Extended, Now Is Forever, ILOG2, Altered Alchemy, NIE3, The Homesweeper, and 22 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      €172.80 EUR or more (20% OFF)




"In preparation for the 3rd edition of FAM-Festival (Festival für Andere Musik) in 2000 at Staatsbank Berlin Ignaz Schick commissioned a new electro-acoustic quartet consisting of Andrea Ermke, Annette Krebs, Andrea Neumann and Schick himself. The combination was evident as the selected musicians were at the time four of the most uncompromising and significant „electronic“ players of the still young Berlin Echtzeitmusik scene. All four are highly individual and innovative instrumentalists who were researching unique sonic materials working primarily with object sounds and using amongst others strong amplification, everyday objects, field recordings, feedback, mixing desk noise and other unusual sources as musical material. The four were already interacting in various group constellations and were quite familiar with each others approaches as they had been rehearsing and researching together since around 1996/1997 (i.e. in Rotophormen, Petit Pale, Cox Orange, Ananax, Roananax, RHO, …).
The music selected for this album is the first unedited meeting (first day) of a three day rehearsal period in January 2000 at Andrea Neumann’s house. The quartet only performed two concerts and disbanded short after. Except for Andrea Ermke the rest of the group merged into the more known formation „Phosphor“ later in the same year. The music of this quartet displays a crisp and crunchy collage of electro-acoustic material and a quite structured form with a sonic palette ranging from small sounds to harsh white noise and piercing sine waves. This recording also shows that the aesthetics of the early Berlin Echtzeit sound was way less „minimal“ or „reductionist“ than some people want to make you believe today."


released November 30, 2020

Andrea Ermke (minidisc players, sampler)
Annette Krebs (electro-acoustic guitar)
Andrea Neumann (inside piano, mixing desk)
Ignaz Schick (cd & minidisc players, contact mics, objects, electronics)

Recorded January 28th 2000 directly to DAT at Pappelallee 5 Berlin
Mastered 2020 by Ignaz Schick at Q-136 Berlin
All music by Andrea Ermke/Annette Krebs/Andrea Neumann/Ignaz Schick
Copyright by Zangi Music/Zarek & the artists 2020

ZORA22 [Zarek Online Release Archive]


all rights reserved



Zarek [Online Release Archive] Berlin, Germany

Ignaz Schick is a Berlin based sound artist, composer & visual artist. He performs as instrumentalist on turntables, objects, sampler, live-electronics, alto saxophone & flutes. He has collaborated with with Mwata Bowden, Don Cherry, Douglas Ewart, Sven-Ake Johansson, George Lewis, Paul Lovens, Toshimaru Nakamura, Charlemagne Palestine, Andrea Parkins, Keith Rowe, Akira Sakata or Martin Tetréault. ... more

contact / help

Contact Zarek [Online Release Archive]

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Anatomy Of Noise, you may also like: